Monday, November 28, 2016

REVIEW - OUR CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland


Our Chemical Hearts
by Krystal Sutherland
Publisher - Hot Key Books
Release Date - October 4th 2016
Buy - Amazon | Book Depository

John Green meets Rainbow Rowell in this irresistible story of first love, broken hearts, and the golden seams that put them back together again.

Henry Page has never been in love. He fancies himself a hopeless romantic, but the slo-mo, heart palpitating, can't-eat-can't-sleep kind of love that he's been hoping for just hasn't been in the cards for him—at least not yet. Instead, he's been happy to focus on his grades, on getting into a semi-decent college and finally becoming editor of his school newspaper. Then Grace Town walks into his first period class on the third Tuesday of senior year and he knows everything's about to change.

Grace isn't who Henry pictured as his dream girl—she walks with a cane, wears oversized boys' clothes, and rarely seems to shower. But when Grace and Henry are both chosen to edit the school paper, he quickly finds himself falling for her. It's obvious there's something broken about Grace, but it seems to make her even more beautiful to Henry, and he wants nothing more than to help her put the pieces back together again. And yet, this isn't your average story of boy meets girl. Krystal Sutherland's brilliant debut is equal parts wit and heartbreak, a potent reminder of the bittersweet bliss that is first love.

My Review

I picked this one totally randomly and I had a little help picking it too. I was stuck in the middle of the book and I need an out clause. I didn't want too but I was forcing myself to struggle which isn't the way to enjoy reading or books for that matter. But this one, oh wow, did I fly through it, and did I love it - YES! Do you know why I loved it because it was the first time in a long time that I stayed up to finish it. I was tired in the morning but it was a price I was willing to pay. 

I went totally into the unknown with this book - I didn't read the description, I got picked the book and I read and it was the best feeling when it's a totally moving and gorgeous book. Told by a male protagonist named Henry Page, he wants what his parents have - a truly magical and inspiring love like when his dad moves, his mum moves with him. He's been lead to believe and want this love more than anything. He's never fallen in love and the first person he kissed turns out shes a lesiban and he's never lived that one down...until this day La, has been his best friend ever since as well as the Ozzy named Murray. (Hilarious might I add.) So when Grace Town comes into school, unkept, messy hair, wearing boys clothes and using a cane, he shouldn't really think anything about it apart from she's weird. But it's her oddity and the unique persona that shouts from the end of the hall that draws Henry in. But is it for the right reasons...

I absolutely loved being part of Henry's story. It's really hard to say what it was but it was unlike I've read this year in terms of Henry's narrative, his persona and even the relationships/friendships he has. His group of friends, Lo and Murray are just the bomb (I don't know where that came from) Murray is the comedic, Lo is the heart of the group I think and Henry well he's the intelligence. But I did feel quite sorry for him actually, because he's been mislead of the idea of love and his big heart was completely genuine in this story when the person he fell in love was the mostly unlikely person of all. That for me was the beauty of it. 😍😍

I feel that his relationship, his first love with Grace was a whirlwind and certainly not one he was counting on. He just wanted to mend Grace's broken self and I want commend him for that. One could say it's dysfunctional relationship- beautiful on the outside but very dark and twisted in the inside when you get to see the real truth to Grace's story. But Grace has her own demons but she wants someone who will make her let go in a familiar sort of way.

What I actually loved was reading from a male POV. I don't rarely read it from a male's narrative and I'm not being sexist, promise but sometimes I find I don't connect with the character at all, it's different from a dual protagonist  y'know! I think for me its what I'm used too. But with this new job I'm finding I'm reading so many different novels than I usually would. If you haven't seen it, pick it up and give it a try you won't be disappointed.

Rating - 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Monday, November 14, 2016

REVIEW - THE BLACK KEY by Amy Ewing

The Black Key (The Lone City #3)
by Amy Ewing 
Publisher - Walker Books Ltd
Release Date - October 6th 2016
Buy - Amazon | Book Depository

The third book in Amy Ewing's New York Times bestselling Lone City trilogy, The Black Key is perfect for fans of The Selection and Red Queen.

Violet and the Society of the Black Key are preparing to launch an attack on the royalty, and Violet has a crucial role to play. She must lead the surrogates as they infiltrate the Auction and break down the walls of the Lone City. But with her sister, Hazel, imprisoned in the palace of the Lake, Violet is torn. In order to save her sister, she must abandon her cause and her friends and return to the Jewel.





My Review

It's a spoiler free zone!!
I finished this last night... IT'S THE END PEOPLE and I really can't put into words how emotional, sad and yet utterly ecstatic as to how it ended. I'd like to say first that this is an amazing series and one of my favourite dystopian series to date! It's beat Divergent and Hunger Games and anything else you can throw at me, I can tell you that The Lone City beats it hand down!!!

The Black Key continues on from the horrifying cliffhanger of The White Rose (waiting over a year for this is torture I might like to add.) Together Violet and the surrogates are stronger than ever. Whilst recruiting more surrogates and showing them their true destiny, The Black Key a cult/ a society against and standing to fight against The Jewel and the royals are nearing their final battle, their final step into destroying the wall between slavery and cruelty to win pure freedom. From the days of the Jewel, Lot 197 no longer exists...Only Violet Lasting, and now is the time to prove and believe in who she is!

It's quite hard to tell you about this book as I don't want to spoil it for you. From the moment I started page 1 of The Black Key it's like I never left the world of the Lone City. But what you need to know is that it is glorious, emotionally touching, amazing and raw and quite simply a stunning finale to such a unique and poignant dystopian series of these last few years. Violet has grown stronger and fiercer than ever, she knows that although being a surrogate was a brutal and soul destroying reality of the Jewel, it was in a way a gift to break out of her shell and be the woman that she is now. Violet was meant to be a born leader and she has come such a long way from "Violet becomes a nobody, just a shell to be protected and shown off to the other Houses." - from my review of The Jewel. Violet is like a star, she been in the darkest of places, but if you look closely she has become the brightest of stars to shine. As a reader I really couldn't be more proud of her... she is truley an exceptional, inspiring and one of the bravest characters I know in this genre. 

Not only did The Black Key, or the Lone City series have a kick-ass heroine, but she had a family of characters. The relationships between each of the characters is quite moving and special in every way. Her best friend Raven, oh wow what a friendship, it reminded me of my best friend. Raven and Violet are like sisters that destiny forgot to give each other. But they are so much more powerful than that too. Violet and Lucien are more like father and daughter in so many ways and it's such an emotional relationship as we get to the final moments of the novel. Finally, Violet and Ash....awwww, I just adore them. Together they are just magnificent, they build each other up and they give each other the belief, strength, hope and most of love of all things they need to achieve.

The Black Key is where it all comes together for the better and/or for the worse. That's for you to decide if you read it...WAIT!!!! NOT if, WHEN!!!!!!! Like I said at the beginning, I'm so pleased that Walker sent me a proof all those years ago, because every book of this trilogy has been my most anticipated every year. Oh and can we just take a moment too, to appreciate the cover for these, I mean both UK and US are simple gorgeous in their own right...


I will say this again The Lone City has been and will continue to the best YA dystopian ever! It should be nominated for the Goodreads Choice Awards thats for sure. It's addictive, mesmerizing, raw and totally unforgettable! It is the end for Violet Lasting but it's only the beginning for Amy Ewing. I can't wait to read her next novel coming 2018 - The Cerulean, a duology!

Rating - 5 Stars 

Tuesday, November 01, 2016

A FOREVER RECAP - where I've been?!



Hi, Ello, Howdy, Whats up?!

Happy November my friends!! It's been a long time hasn't it and it feels that way to me. I've literally been swamped under with this new job of mine but I absolutely love it. I didn't realise starting a fresh could take such a long time to settle in but like my Head says it's like moving into a house, it takes you ages to get the place how you want it. Plus I want to make this new library my own and it's getting there...slowly but surely.

Whilst with the new job I haven't read much at all it's taking me 2 weeks to read 1 book and I hate that especially when I'm working in the books I love. But sometimes when I come home I just needed to zone out or binge watch a series rather than read at the mo. What I have read have been some good books and today I read an amazing book which I think has broke the reading funk of mine. So I think with the start of a new term I can finally breathe a little and start doing what I love which is read and blog.

                 Image result for and a happy new year holly bourne
                     ★★★★★            ★★★                  ★★★★!!!

But lately in the last few weeks I have done some awesome things like going to the London Literature Convention at the Southbank where I met my favourite author again, Holly Bourne who is amazing as well as seeing two talks one on How Hard Can Love Be? based on Holly's book with Femi Martin and Steven Camden - who's book I really can't wait to start. He was hilarious at the event. The best part was that it was open to the audience too which I really wished I asked a question or two now. What I loved about it was that I started to jot down bits from it to create a post but I got so entranced by all the authors reactions that it was so amazing to be part of. I also bought far too many books again, which I definitely need to reign in.

  

And last week I was on a well earned and rested holiday for the entire half term which right now I really do miss. Working in a school makes  holidays go super quick don't they?! We did loads of walking and trails and it felt so good to be away and relaxing. I want to be back there...

  

So this week I will be catching up on some short reviews of the recent books I've read, a Spinster special and I will try and keep to blogging at least once or twice a week if I can. If I'm not always here I do try and update my Instagram @nverjudgeabook regularly so make sure you follow me there and say hello too. Hope your doing all well my lovelies and can't wait to speak to you all.

Happy Reading,
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...